Kahlil Gibran Quotes

Kahlil Gibran

Kahlil Gibran

Kahlil Gibran (January 6, 1883 – April 10, 1931) was a Lebanese-American artist, poet, and writer.Born in the town of Bsharri in the north of modern-day Lebanon.He is chiefly known in the English-speaking world for his 1923 book The Prophet, an early example of inspirational fiction including a series of philosophical essays written in poetic English prose. The book sold well despite a cool critical reception, gaining popularity in the 1930s and again especially in the 1960s counterculture. Gibran is the third best-selling poet of all time, behind Shakespeare and Lao-Tzu.

The Prophet is a book of 26 prose poetry essays written in English by Kahlil Gibran. It was originally published in 1923. It is Gibran’s best known work. The Prophet has been translated into over forty different languages and has never been out of print. In this book a Prophet who is about to board a ship is stopped by a group of people, with whom he discusses topics such as life and the human condition.

This book has a way of speaking to people at different stages in their lives. It has a magical quality, the more you read it the more you come to understand the words and it’s not filled with any kind of dogma and is available to anyone.

“One day you will ask me which is more important? My life or yours? I will say mine and you will walk away not knowing that you are my life.”

“If you love somebody, let them go, for if they return, they were always yours. If they don’t, they never were.”

“It takes a minute to have a crush on someone, an hour to like someone, and a day to love someone… but it takes a lifetime to forget someone.”

“Tenderness and kindness are not signs of weakness and despair, but manifestations of strength and resolution.”

“Hearts united in pain and sorrow
will not be separated by joy and happiness.
Bonds that are woven in sadness
are stronger than the ties of joy and pleasure.
Love that is washed by tears
will remain eternally pure and faithful.”

Kahlil gibran on children

“We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.”

“joy and sorrow are inseparable. . . together they come and when one sits alone with you . . remember that the other is asleep upon your bed.

“We are all like the bright moon, we still have our darker side.”

“It is wrong to think that love comes from long companionship and persevering courtship. Love is the offspring of spiritual affinity and unless that affinity is created in a moment, it will not be created for years or even generations.”

“The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the greatest intention.”

“You may forget with whom you laughed, but you will never forget with whom you wept. ”

“I love you when you bow in your mosque, kneel in your temple, pray in your church. For you and I are sons of one religion, and it is the spirit. ”

Kahlil gibran on children

“Trust in dreams, for in them is the hidden gate to eternity.”

“If you reveal your secrets to the wind,
you should not blame the wind for
revealing them to the trees.”

“The optimist sees the rose and not its thorns; the pessimist stares at the thorns, oblivious to the rose.”

“They deem me mad because I will not sell my days for gold; and I deem them mad because they think my days have a price. ”

“Love one another, but make not a bond of love: Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.

Khalil_Gibran

“My loneliness was born when men praised my talkative faults and blamed my silent virtues.”

“Your daily life is your temple and your religion.”

“Keep me away from the wisdom which does not cry, the philosophy which does not laugh and the greatness which does not bow before children.”

“No man can reveal to you aught but that which already lies half asleep in the dawning of your knowledge.
The teacher who walks in the shadow of the temple, among his followers, gives not of his wisdom but rather of his faith and his lovingness.
If he is indeed wise he does not bid you enter the house of his wisdom, but rather leads you to the threshold of your own mind.”

“Sadness is but a wall between two gardens.”

Khali_Gibran young

“Forgetfulness is a form of freedom.”

“I slept and I dreamed that life is all joy. I woke and I saw that life is all service. I served and I saw that service is joy.”

“An eye for an eye, and the whole world would be blind.”

“Of life’s two chief prizes, beauty and truth, I found the first in a loving heart and the second in a laborer’s hand.”

“I wash my hands of those who imagine chattering to be knowledge, silence to be ignorance, and affection to be art.”

“Love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation”

“We are all prisoners but some of us are in cells with windows and some without.”

“Do not fear the thorns in your path, for they draw only corrupt blood.”

Khalil_Gibran

“The teacher who is indeed wise does not bid you to enter the house of his wisdom but rather leads you to the threshold of your mind.”

“Half of what I say is meaningless; but I say it so that the other half may reach you.”

“When life does not find a singer to sing her heart she produces a philosopher to speak her mind.”

“Faith is an oasis in the heart which will never be reached by the caravan of thinking.”

“Work is love made visible. And if you can’t work with love, but only with distaste, it is better that you should leave your work and sit at the gate of the temple and take alms of the people who work with joy”

kahlil gibran on love

“Your clothes conceal much of your beauty, yet they hide not the unbeautiful.”

“Life without liberty is like a body without spirit.”

“He who seeks ecstasy in love should not complain of suffering.”

“Strange, the desire for certain pleasures is a part of my pain.”

“You cannot laugh and be unkind at the same time”

“Trees are poems that the earth writes upon the sky.”

“Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding.”

“Verily the lust for comfort murders the passion of the soul, and then walks grinning in the funeral.”

“He who is more mindful of one, loses the love and the faith of both.”

“Remembrance is a form of meeting.”

kahlil-gibran on love

“So the wicked and the weak cannot fall lower than the lowest which is in you also.”

hjgi

uiyiyui

kahlil gibran on love

hkjjhk

kahlil gibran on love

About the alchemist

Out beyond ideas of wrong doing and right doing, there is a field. I'll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass, the world is too full to talk about. Ideas, language, even the phrase each other doesn't make any sense. ~Rumi
This entry was posted in Quotes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Kahlil Gibran Quotes

  1. Lissa Rabon says:

    Absolutely love this! He is one of the first to speak this wisdom into my life…even if it was from The Prophet.

  2. Hello Arvind, thank you for coming by my blog – I see you were pulled in by my references to Gibran and Rumi – two of the greatest meta-physical poets ever in my opinion! I am most pleased you found me, as it allowed me to follow you here. I love your content and send you all good wishes in your journey. I believe we are here to learn to love, to think about the mysteries and to stand in awe before creation – you seem to be on this path too. Please do keep posting such wonderfully inspiring content and keep searching!

  3. kittnoir says:

    Wise and beautiful in sentiment & thought. Thank you for sharing it

  4. wallflyer says:

    Thank you for posting these quotes: Gibran’s wisdom is worth sharing.

  5. I like this one – “We choose our joys and sorrows long before we experience them.”
    and yes, I do like Gibran’s works…

  6. aerislair says:

    I love The Prophet very much! It’s almost like an excerpt from the Bible or Qu’ran. Thanks for the wonderful quotes

  7. sapphireg says:

    I read ‘ The voice of the master’ its amazing.keep sharing such stuff.Love to read it.

  8. What’s up to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are pleasant for new users.

  9. One of the first poets I read that I truly loved. I bought copies of The Prophet for my children too when they grew up.

  10. aiman peer says:

    his broken wings is a must read book….. itz awesome fantastic and beautifully written

  11. babarahs says:

    I really enjoyed that. Thanks

  12. Thanks for sharing all this wisdom…Kahlil Gibran kind of grows on you…the more you read him, the more you feel it applies to you…

  13. Patricia Ann says:

    Thank you for finding me and leading me to you. You are very profound and I am enjoying reading your posts, especially Kahlil. I love Khalil! Let there be spaces in your togetherness…..aahh.

  14. I first heard of Kahlil Gibran in 1978, summer … a friend at the time gave me The Prophet as a gift. A great gift, this post. I didn’t realize he is #3 in the best selling poets. I shouldn’t be surprised. When I look at all those quotes, I am reminded that he made quite an impact on many, many sojourners, poets. Great blog. I will visit again, because it is worth my time to visit. By the way, thank you for taking time to visit my blog, SpeakListenPrayDontBeStupid. I’m honored. Peace, T

  15. jeanw5 says:

    Kahlil Gibran, I just love him so much. How blessed the world is that he shared his passion with us. If I had thoughts such as his and could speak them as he did, what a gift that would be. Thank you for serving his memory, his faith and trust in life.

  16. Mike says:

    An exceptionally well-written article on this unparallelled philosopher/poet/polymath who translates so easily in the third millennium. I can read and re-read his thoughts on children (The Prophet) ad infinitum – do let your readers know that this seminal work is available free online. I have greatly enjoyed reading this post. Thank you.

  17. gorgeousgael says:

    I haven’t had much to do with this wonderful poet/philosopher – I will from now on.

  18. erikleo says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog. I’ll take my time on yours which looks great! You may be interested in my cat blog. Its the musings of a philosophical cat.

  19. Greetings. Welcome to AMS. Glad you’ve decided to follow. I thought I would stop by.
    This is a really great piece. I recognize some of these quotes though I would nnever have known the source. likewise The picture is familiar but I never knew who he was. Strange isn’t it?

  20. josephsacco says:

    Wonderful quotes, very inspirational. Many thanks for sharing.

  21. Arvind you have done it – collected the best of Gibran for us – i never thought of Gibran as comparing to Umar Khyyam my favourite – but your quotes make me ponder again – really rare quotes from Gibran and o so wonderful – good on you man. – i will return again to imbibe the beauty and truth of gibran thanks to Arvind – bravo

    Indrajit

  22. palsdxe says:

    Longtime fan of Gilbran here…Loved the post, thanks 🙂 ~Saryta

  23. MW Moore says:

    Gibran was/is a master that understood love and revealed it to the world.
    Thank you for visiting and following my humble blog, I hope that we may entertain and enlighten in the days to come.

  24. Hi, lovely Blog – good job. Thank you for liking my post – Kev.

  25. Ahh, Khalil GIbran… I love this guy……. the first time i read one of his books, i sort of felt totally connected…. i so resonated with his words……

  26. Melody J Haislip says:

    It’s hard to believe so much wisdom could be contained in one frail vessel. He was a genius!

  27. leamuse says:

    Thank you for choosing to follow one of my blogs. I hope you continue to enjoy the posts.

    Perhaps you might stop by my other blog and check it out? http://foundinfrance.wordpress.com

  28. Thank you for visiting my blog today and for choosing to follow it. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

  29. bowmanauthor says:

    Thanks for the follow on my blog, and I follow in return. What a beautiful web site!

  30. Wonderful texts and complementary visuals

  31. This Is the post I will treasure, print out and read often. It is filled with the wisdom of Gilbran and such beauty in the way you have presented it.
    I really feel you have done the world a service in remastering such pearls of truth. Thank you so much x

  32. I was a teenager and young adult in the 60s, so have long enjoyed the work of Kahlil Gibran. Are the illustrations also by him ? I like them very much,

  33. Pingback: Only Breath by Rumi | antryump

  34. Capt Jill says:

    Thanks for sharing the words of this wonderful poet. I read the Prophet a long time ago. I don’t usually read poetry, but he made an impression on me. 🙂

  35. Thank you for sharing these words and for liking my post.

  36. Ron says:

    Interesting and true observations. Thanks for following humorous interludes. I am humbled and delighted. 🙂 Now following.

  37. SDonais says:

    Thank you very much Dave. I enjoyed this blog enormously

  38. Pingback: Kahlil Gibran quote | antryump

  39. Great post,l studied the work of Gibran Kahlil and visited the village where( Bishra) he grow up in Lebanon,Greetings.

  40. Lance says:

    Wonderful quotes. I wasn’t familiar with him and now I am. Thank you!

  41. Pingback: Kahlil Gibran Quotes | antryump

  42. Always loved him: ” your children are not your children…” has gotten me through many things to accept the separation from us mothers from our children. Of course, it is still hard, but I keep reminding myself of this. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

