Love your-self

utah

About the alchemist

Out beyond ideas of wrong doing and right doing, there is a field. I'll meet you there. When the soul lies down in that grass, the world is too full to talk about. Ideas, language, even the phrase each other doesn't make any sense. ~Rumi
This entry was posted in Motivation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Love your-self

  1. A lovely story, if a little sad. I hope it’s not too cheeky to offer an alternative ending:

    One day the crow happened to see his reflection in the lake.

    “What am I doing to myself?” he cried. “How could I have forgotten that I’m meant to be a crow! Being a crow is what I’m good at!” And he flew away to eat some proper crow food and caw with his old crow friends.

  2. Lovely modern re-write of an ancient tale.
    We should always strive to become more deeply ourselves….not an imitation of another 🙂

  3. Alchemist is a great signature. To me it signifies you believe in transformation that transcends the material universe.
    Nice to have you drop by The Horizontal Church. Our message is that there are many virtues, but only one final destination: Love as Jesus and Gandhi explained it.
    According to Jewish/Christian teachings, the Great Loves are:
    Love my enemy: (it will drive him crazy)
    Love my neighbor as myself. (love them with equanimity).
    Love myself, (accepting me as very good: “God doesn’t make any junk.”
    Love God fully, with heart, mind and strength.
    Love your brethren sacrificially, (as Jesus loved His own)
    Love is a magnet that draws people into one;s sphere.

  4. jeanw5 says:

    Yes, we are what we are, for whatever reason. I like the happy ending. A dear teacher I very much admired once called me an immature reader because I was addicted (he rightly thought) to happy endings. I certainly wasn’t prepared for life, but I still prefer happy endings. Thanks for being able to alter an otherwise finished story. In this skill you truly reflect life as a never-ending story.

  5. Jacob Geers says:

    I feel that many times we seek to be the swan. This little story is incredibly applicable to everyone I feel. What a great find!

  6. glassjan says:

    This story reminds me that we are all unique and beautiful in our own way. I believe everyone has something special to offer. Just find out what it is and be good at that 🙂

Leave a Reply

